Wonderful nostalgia on BBC2 last evening about Christmases past, brought back some lovely memories of simpler times of my childhood which included some very early children’s programmes that the BBC transmitted during the 1950s. I was particularly moved at being re-introduced to one of my infant idols, Muffin the Mule. Unfortunately, that also reminded me of an embarrassing moment in my place of work some years ago!

One morning in the Crematorium office we had been discussing television from the past and I, being the oldest member of staff, was trying to explain all about Muffin the Mule and what was so endearing about this simple puppet show. Anyway, they had no idea what I was prattling on about so decided to give them a lusty rendering of the theme tune:

We want Muffin, Muffin the Mule;
Dear old Muffin, playing the fool;
We want Muffin, everybody sing;
We want Muffin the Mule!
I sang loudly and heartily!

Of course, the inevitable happened, my 10.00 appointment walked into the office early, just as I commenced my raucous solo and I didn’t notice; my colleagues didn’t stop me however and suddenly I realised a stony face woman was waiting for me to finish. Red-faced, I bumblingly offered my apology, but she made no comment whatsoever which really made me feel even more foolish. Somehow I managed to get through the appointment in a dignified way after my appalling start and dealt with all the business necessary for purchasing a resting-place for her loved-one. On completion the lady said “Thank you Mike, you’ve been more than helpful” and added, with a twinkle in her eye; “Thanks for Muffin as well, made a difficult task much more bearable, I shan’t forget that in a hurry!”

Right then, everyone join in:
We want Muffin, Muffin the Mule;
Dear old Muffin, playing the fool;
We want Muffin, everybody sing;
We want Muffin the Mule!

