Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today I visited the Barry Festival of Transport, an annual event primarily for vintage and classic buses and coaches but with a good selection of other vintage vehicles as well. Organised by the Cardiff Transport Preservation Group who are based at the old Western Welsh bus depot at Broad Street in Barry and held in conjunction with Vale of Glamorgan Council who provide the site for the free show.

It had been my intention to base today’s blog entirely upon the visiting buses which formerly belonged to the Western Welsh Omnibus Company and I set about attempting to photograph each one them. However, at the site in Barry Island the exhibits were cramped in a little making photography rather difficult so I concentrated on some details of them instead. When I arrived home and looked at my photos I realised there was a common theme amongst a number of them, reflections in shiny paintwork, so I’ve decided to show you some of these instead!

Finally, I can’t but help show you a photograph of a Leyland Tiger Cub, one of only two Western Welsh examples that survive out of the hundreds the company owned in the 1950s and 60s. I was fortunate enough to be in the right place at the right time and had a ride entirely on my own where I sat in the front seat and chatted to the driver whilst reliving in my mind the last time I sat in a Tiger Cub, probably 1965 when I was sixteen and this particular example was only one year old!

