Car window sticker for the 1977 Banbury Steam Society Steam Engine Rally & FayreIn the annual vintage rally calendar there were only occasional weekends in a year when very little was happening, particularly for us enthusiasts in South Wales. Usually I would be attending a vintage rally or show every weekend, occasionally two shows. The season would commence on the May Day Bank Holiday with the one-day event at Singleton Park in Swansea and would end on the first weekend in October when we attended the Heavy Horse Show at Abergavenny. In between there would be a variety of events from large traction engine rallies to smaller shows like local school fetes and agricultural shows. The last weekend of June though usually didn’t have very much on which was easy or convenient to attend, so I would take this opportunity to visit a rally or show without my stationary engine. One show I visited on just a single occasion was the Banbury Steam Rally, I was sure I had taken photographs at this event but can’t see any in my archives, so you’ll just have to make do with the car sticker and poster from the 1977 show.

Poster for the 1977 Banbury Steam Society Steam Engine Rally & Fayre

