Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

A year ago I wrote a blog entry about the Bridgend Show as, inevitably, it rained or was miserable that weekend. This year however the weather has been perfect, probably too good as everyone would prefer to visit the seaside instead. It was hot just like this thirty years ago in 1983 as that was the weekend of the wedding of my sister and her husband, and I had to forego my exhibiting space at the vintage machinery section that year as obviously I was otherwise engaged.

Mike Stokes at a vintage machinery show in south WalesThe Glamorgan & Gwent Group of the National Vintage Tractor & Engine Club, of which I was secretary at that time, regularly put on a display of machinery at the show from 1979 onwards. I was certainly involved for a five year period until I retired from my position as secretary in 1984 and the group may well have exhibited there in subsequent years. Despite the fact I always had my camera with me, I have no photographs of our display at any of the Bridgend Shows at which we exhibited, the only photographic record I have is a press cutting of me with my Lister stationary engine which I showed you last year. Shown here is another press cutting of myself with the vintage section at a similar local show, this time in 1983. Every year the exhibitors would receive an attendance plaque as a souvenir of the event, here is one of the plaques.

Exhibitors plaque for 1981 Bridgend Show

There are some good photographs of the 2013 Bridgend Show on flickr, taken by my photography friend Neil Holman, just follow the link.

“The Bridgend Show Society was formed in 1945. The prime object of the first show was to raise money for the “Welcome Home Fund” for returning servicemen. It was such a success that it became an annual event and was regarded as the second largest show in Wales.”
(source: Bridgend 900, published 1993, Bridgend Local History Society)

