Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If my memory serves me correctly, then the fourth weekend of July was the usual date for the Kenfig Hill & District Show. During my stationary engine period in the early 1980s this was another local event not to be missed. I had been approached by the Show Society when they had seen us at Bridgend Show in 1980 and very rapidly got a few exhibitors together to put on a display at their show in just two weeks time. I didn’t take any photographs that first year but I have captured a little of the event on Super8 ciné film.

 

Two years later, when I was secretary of the Glamorgan & Gwent Group of the National Vintage Tractor & Engine Club (NVTEC) the Show Society agreed to give us extra space so that we could hold our own vintage rally within the constraints of their own show. This was the forerunner to our first independent rally held a year later which I shall describe in a future post on WordPress.

Elevated view of the vintage section of the 1982 Kenfig Hill & District Show

Exhibitors came from all over the country to the show, from as far afield as Yorkshire, North Wales, and Kent and multitudinous counties in between. I was on site from early Friday to greet them all and to direct them to exhibiting and camping areas and to settle them in for a jolly weekend. At the end of the day on Saturday I gathered all the exhibitors together for a group photograph and even now, thirty or more years later can identify a large percentage of them even though I’d probably only met them for the first time that weekend and not seen them since.

The exhibitors of the vintage section at the 1982 Kenfig Hill & District Show

Following the group photograph our club had arranged entertainment for the exhibitors and their families with a barbecue to start it off followed by party-style games which kept everyone entertained. Towards the latter part of he evening we held a rounders match, with much cheating, which was finished off in torchlight. We also made a few evening trips in the dark for the exhibitors using a trailer which I had adapted for use as a passenger carriage when not transporting my engines.

Night-time entertainment provided for exhibitors of the vintage section at the 1982 Kenfig Hill & District Show

The weather for the whole weekend was glorious and at the end of it all the exhibitors were presented with the customary brass souvenir plaque as a token gesture of our appreciation of their participation. A report of the show, well mainly about me, appeared in the following week’s Glamorgan Gazette and my report and photographs of the weekend were featured over two pages in Vaporising, the quarterly magazine of the NVTEC.

Rally plaque presented to exhibitors at the 1982 Kenfig Hill & District Show.

