Tags

, , , ,

My brother and his wife have been on vacation from Australia for the past few weeks and one of the things we have enjoyed doing during their stay is visiting old haunts of our youth. This has included places my brother nor I have visited in decades and also looking at some locals places neither of us have ever been. I’m ashamed to say that one of these is Bridgend’s own castle, Newcastle.

Newcastle, Bridgend. This will enlarge in a new window or tab.Situated on the top of Newcastle Hill the remains of the castle are overshadowed by St Illtyd’s Church which dominates the scene in front of the castle remains. One has to walk further up the hill and down a side street to reach the entrance to the castle, the gates of which are unlocked every day from 10.00 until 4.00pm. In my defence, I will say that for decades the only way to gain entry to the castle was to obtain the key from a local keyholder, and on the one occasion I attempted to gain entry I couldn’t get an answer at the door; I never bothered again. I’m not going to mention the history of the castle, but take a peek at a blog on the Castles of Bridgend written by local historian Louvain Rees.

Anonymous quarry in the Vale of Glamorgan. Click on the photograph to enlarge in a new window or tab.I’m not really into castles and other ancient remains, I’m much happier poking about in post industrial revolution stuff, now termed industrial archaeology and a glimpse of an old quarry will excite me far more than the sight of a dramatic castle. On our travels over the last week or so we happened upon such a location by accident, the remains of a small quarry in the Vale of Glamorgan, which I just had to explore and capture with my camera.

