Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Link to fifteen photographs in a set on flickr.The story of Woodham Brothers locomotive scrapyard at Barry is well known and I’ll not repeat it here on WordPress. In the 1970s I only made one visit there and took just fifteen photographs. It was in the period I worked at the Jane Hodge Holiday Home at Trerhyngyll in the Vale of Glamorgan. We must have made a trip out from the home as two of my young charges appear in a number of the photographs; it’s always the same two boys, Karl (in quilted anorak) and Stephen (in light coloured coat). I have no recollection of why just those two lads appear in the pictures, perhaps they were the only two interested in getting out of the bus and having a mooch around with me.

I can date this photo to within an eight day period between 14th and 23rd May 1974. This locomotive is one of the 9F 2-10-0 class, I believe it is 92245 as I can just about read the number on another photograph. This loco was one of the last to remain at Barry and I believe may still be in the vicinity.

