Tags

, , ,

It’s been a little while since I posted on my blog, inspiration sometimes will not come my way and rather than post trivia would prefer to post nothing at all. But this brief post is to let you all know I’m still about and working on a few new stories and historical items.

I have not taken the camera out for a photoshoot in a long while either, so it was with some enthusiasm I was invited along with two other friends to go on a short(ish) trek with my camera. The original destination was to have been Cwm Gwrelych, about which I wrote back last year, but at the last moment our driver changed her mind and suggested Penwyllt, an old favourite location of mine.

Like many persons of my generation, I enjoy using one of the popular social network sites as a means of communicating with like-minded people. One of the groups to which I belong on this site is South Wales Monochrome, a group specifically for photographers of South Wales who express themselves through the medium of black and white photography. We are allowed to post one photograph a day and a new theme is set for each week and the theme for this week is Walls and Fences.

The Penwyllt area of the Brecon Beacons is based around an abandoned quarry and covers a vast area. Over the last couple of years I have photographed the area from most angles and with this in mind decided to attempt new positions. In addition, I also had the Walls & Fences theme in my mind, it would be good to post a contemporary photo to the group, rather than to dip into my vast archive.

The weather over the last few weeks has been awful, rain and wind nearly every day, so it was with some surprise that we realised the day we had planned for our visit was going to be fine, breezy, but fine. With snow on the adjacent mountain tops we climbed to the top quarry for the obligatory photos of the vast landscape before strolling back down again to tackle the kilns and ruins of the old silica brickworks. On our descent I took a number of photos of fences and walls but this is the only one with which I was satisfied.

_MG_6414_penwyllt

