Tags

, , , , , ,

Following on from yesterday’s Collectaholics story, by the middle of the 1990s I had parted with much of the collection I had accumulated over the previous twenty years, gone were the stationary engines, the narrow gauge railway, the enamel signs, the cast-iron seats, the tractors, fire tender and ambulance, and numerous other miscellania, what I had left was all the minor stuff that I couldn’t sell or didn’t wish to part with which I stuffed into the back of the garage. Now let’s fast-forward ten years to 2004.

That year we had decided the large house at Southerndown, in which the extended family lived, was becoming too much for our limited financial resources and decided to sell. In mid 2005 I hired a storage unit on the Bridgend Industrial Estate and slowly over a period of about six months transported everything that was left from my collection and stored it there until after the house move. Believe me, that unit became very full!

I was fortunate enough to find a three-bedroomed house in town with a very large double-garage at the bottom of the garden and shortly after purchase and moving in late November 2005 I began to transport all the stuff from the storage unit. At this point I decided to put the majority of it into a museum building at the bottom of the garden, I had a suitable wooden shed, it had previously been part of my locomotive store and suitably cut-down made an ideal display area for my reduced collection.

My Garden Museum

The photo shows the interior of my museum as it was soon after construction. In there is part of my extensive brick collection and loads of other things including my very first stationary engine (blue) and my Tri-ang “Big” toys. In the summer of 2013 I moved house once again and all this and more was moved into the garage until such time as my museum building is reinstated, this is due for reconstruction this summer and will house some of this collection, but not all of it, another shed in the garden is earmarked for the bricks and galvanised items; it’s just a matter of time!

