Tags

, , ,

I like my little Canon G12 compact camera and tend to take it with me wherever I go, it just slips easily into my pocket and is versatile enough for most situations. It does have some limitations though, I would like a wider angle of view, and slightly more on the telephoto end would be good as well. I thought I had a solution to both these problems and set about acquiring some bits and pieces to achieve this aim.

Lurking in the deepest recesses of my obsolete camera kit is a 2x extension lens that I bought about 25 years ago to fit on my video camera, it worked well on that so thought I’d have a go at using it on my G12. Unfortunately the thread was a different size so I had to purchase a step-down ring to enable the 52mm thread on the lens to attach to the 58mm filter holder on the G12, then it was off out to give it a whirl to see whether the results would be satisfactory. Fail number one, everything except the very centre of the photograph was out of focus, as can be seen below.

Click this photograph to enlarge in a new window or tab.

The wide angle problem I hoped was going to be solved by purchasing a 0.5x attachment advertised specifically for the G10 to G12 range of Canon compacts, an order was raised with Amazon and I sat back to wait expectantly for the lens to arrive. I waited, and waited, Amazon kept apologising for the delay, we were dealing with a third party here, and eventually, two weeks later the lens arrived. Expectantly, and interrupting my house painting, I was eager to test it and went down the garden to try it out. Sadly, this was fail number two, every image was fuzzy and so a quick complaint to Amazon had a prompt reply with a pre-paid postage label – it’s been returned!

Click this photograph to enlarge in a new window or tab.

Both the images will enlarge for you to fully appreciate the truly awful results. I guess I shall just have to continue carrying my heavy kit around if I want wide and long!

