Tags

, ,

It never ceases to amaze me what people will wear on their feet for a walk in extreme countryside; yesterday I saw a young man wearing a pair of modern brogue-style shoes, complete with pointy toes, attempting to walk across a boggy and rock-strewn rough path, don’t know how far he had managed to walk, but it couldn’t have been very far as he was on his way back to the car park. But I digress before I’ve even started today’s blog.

We had parked, with a bit of a struggle, at the Fairy Pools car park on the Isle of Skye, it was heaving with tourists, the path leading across the moors and up the mountain to the pools showed an ant-like trail of beings of all sizes and ages, all off to visit the famous falls. I anticipated having to jostle with loads of photographers at all the well-known “tripod-holes”, but it soon became clear most of the walkers were, well, walkers, very few with cameras on tripods, although loads of compacts and camera-phones were in evidence.

The weather was cloudy with periods of bright light creeping through, the sun a bit of a nuisance, it was mid-day and light reflecting off the water was not easy to control. We had no time schedule to keep though, it was just a case of waiting for the sun to disappear behind the clouds before firing the shutter.

I’ve seen photos of the Fairy Pools and was expecting them to be quite large, so was surprised to see the most-photographed sections are little over a metre in height. We spent a good couple of hours wandering up the various little pools and falls and I ended up taking nearly 60 shots here, I suspect many will be binned when I return home. So, here’s just one, hope you enjoy!

_MG_6690

