Tags

, , , , , , , ,

What is it about flowing water that attracts landscape photographers? It is almost impossible to drive past a waterfall without stopping, there must be some hidden magnetic force that automatically applies the brakes on the car. On the day we drove down the eastern side of the Isle of Skye to visit Elgol we visited three such waterfalls, two were semi-planned, the third was a bonus. It was actually the bonus falls that we visited first, they were discovered completely by accident.

Storrin waterfalls

After visiting Elgol and photographing the scenery to be found at that photogenic location, we wound our way slowly back along the route we had traversed a couple of hours previously, stopping along the way to capture anything we thought might make a good picture. As we approached Torrin where we had photographed the abandoned quarry a short while previously I noticed a small river with an unusual cream-coloured river bed, it was another “stop the car” moment whilst we jumped out to investigate. Well, the moment turned into about an hour as we ventured upstream taking photos of the many falls, small of about half a metre to large about ten metres. However, it was the cream bed that I liked so my first photo shows a very small cascade on this rather beautiful river.

Eas a' Bhradain waterfall.

A few hours later and we were parked up on a large lay-by on the main road to visit a well-known and much photographed feature, the Eas a’ Bhradain waterfall. After the rainfall the previous day the ground surrounding the falls was extremely wet and boggy but with my Hunter wellington boots on my feet ventured to the foot of the falls to capture many different angles. The one I’ve decided to show you here is one of my typical low-angle mid-river shots. Shortly after taking this picture, I accidentally stepped into a deep hole in the bog, well over the knee, filling up my right boot with stinky bog water causing me to overbalance and fill up the left boot as well. Now completely soaked from the lower thighs downward I was not in the best of moods, the camera was sprayed with bog droplets and I dropped a filter in the mud, but otherwise the only damage was to my pride.

Storr, or Bride's Veil waterfall

The third falls we visited that day was near to the Old Man of Storr, I had seen a photo of the Old Man with a waterfall in the foreground and wanted to try and replicate this particular view. By now though, I was losing the will for photography, I was soaking wet and freezing cold but nevertheless we stopped for our photographs and spent a good thirty minutes or so before a wild hailstorm sent us dashing back to the car. So the final image is of the falls near the Old Man of Storr, known as “The Bride’s Veil” waterfall.

