Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Nearly fifty years separate these two photographs. You will recall that I recently visited Scotland for a few days, it’s not the first time I’ve been north of the border, but it is only the second visit. The first occasion was way back in 1964 when I was a teenager of fifteen years of age, I had my camera with me, a Welsh-built bakelite Purma and did take a few snaps of various subjects, the majority of which are indifferent in quality. In amongst them are three waterfall shots, I’m sure they are my very first attempts at capturing moving water and the results are not great. However, I thought it would be interesting to show you my first and my latest waterfall photographs; the first one taken fifty years ago at an unknown location in Scotland, the latest one taken just over a week ago, also in Scotland, Buachaille Etive Mor to be exact!

scotland_1964_004

Buachaille Etive Mor

Apologies for the quality of the first photograph, the negative is badly scratched as are a few others on the same roll, whereas the majority are in excellent condition. You might also like to enlarge the second photograph to appreciate the fine detail in the flowing water in the foreground.

