Tags

, , ,

On the 25th June 1924, 90 years ago today, Betty, my mother, arrived into this world. Today’s blog shall be a celebration of her life in pictures, from the very first to the latest taken at her party last Saturday. Obviously, this is only a very small selection of photographs from my sister’s and my own collection but hope it gives a flavour of her life over the past 90 years – Happy Birthday Mum!                       (hover over photos for captions)

The earliest picture With Teddy The ballerina Mum, unknown date but about 1932Mum with her oldest sister Louie. Mum rear left, sitting on the back steps of what is now my home, with her brother Brian and sister's Jean and Louie. Mum and her sister Jean Mum (centre) with her sisters Louie (left) and Jean. In March 1948 Mum married my father, Alfred John Stokes.Mum in 1950 with her parents and me! 1955 and my sister Sheila has arrived on the scene. Pictured here as a family group, my brother Geoff on the right.A family group at Bourton-on-the-Water. Mum with my sister and myself at Coney Beach, Porthcawl.Camping in a garden at Garstang, Lancashire.Silver Wedding AnniversaryThree generations of organistsSheila's WeddingMum and Dad's Ruby Wedding Anniversary Mum and Dad with all their Grandchildren in 1998 Mum with her three offspring on the occasion of her granddaughter Hannah's wedding in 2012. Mum with Bella Rose, her great granddaughter, February 2014.Bashfully cutting the cake at her 90th Party

