Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As I mentioned in yesterday’s story, I’d had a tip-off that there was an old Petter engine in a barn near Llanharan, and I’d been given a phone number. A quick call ascertained the farmer was willing to part with it and so a visit was arranged. I had a reception committee of three generations,  the farmer, his son, and two grandsons.

The engine looked in a sorry state, but I hoped that it was just external rust and crud and that the interior and the essential bits were OK, but there was no way of knowing that until I’d got it home. I was told the big-end bearing had been dismantled and was lying in the sump, that didn’t sound so good, but nevertheless I decided to take a chance.

Getting it out of the barn was challenging but once we’d wrestled it to the door it was heaved into a tractor bucket and then driven round to my waiting trailer where it is seen prior to sheeting and roping with the three generations posing (sort of) for my camera. As you can see by the long shadows, it was getting quite late, the extra shadow (and foot) is that of my friend Gwyn who was assisting me that afternoon.

The engine really was a lost cause though and I never did anything with it apart from clean off all the years of gunge and I sold it a few years later after deciding it didn’t fit in with my rapidly expanding collection of Lister stationary engines.

scan_367_crop

