Tags

, ,

Forty years ago on the 10th May 1975 I visited the 2nd Dodington Steam & Vintage Fair, it was to be a life-changing visit as it was there I saw a row of stationary engines and remembered some months previously I had rescued from scrap an engine that belonged to my grandfather. On my return home I soon started work on the restoration of this tiny little air-cooled JAP engine and in a few weeks it was rebuilt to my satisfaction and running well. It was to be two months before it saw a rally field, but that’s another story for another day.

This poster is not for the 1975 Dodington rally but for the show two years later in 1977 and is part of my collection of old rally photos and ephemera. Easily the largest in my collection measuring 20″ x 30″, this poster can be viewed larger on my flickr site by clicking on it. You can also view photographs of the 1975 show in an album on my flickr site.

The annual Dodington Steam & Vintage Fair did not have a very large life span, the first in 1974 and the sixth and final show in 1979. I exhibited at the 1976, 1977 and the 1979 events and here is the exhibitor’s commemorative plaque for the latter. I should have polished it before showing you though!

