Tags

, , , ,

I have previously mentioned the six vintage cameras that belonged to my grandfather, two of these were Zeiss Ikon folding cameras from the 1930s. Both used 120 roll film, the larger one one making eight negatives 3¼” x 2¼” on a roll and is fitted with a Compur shutter with speeds from 1 second to 1/250. The lens is 11cm Nettar f4.5 to f32. The smaller camera has 16 negatives 2¼” x 1¾” on a roll and is fitted with a Nettar 7.5cm lens f4.5 to f22 and shutter speeds from 1 to 1/175. There is no model name or number on either of the cameras. I haven’t noticed until now that the smaller camera is missing its waist level viewfinder, perhaps it never had one, although there is provision on the front plate for one.

I put a roll or two of film through the larger camera in the 1970s and although I was reasonably happy with the results, it was very easy to forget to re-calculate the focusing distance for each shot and also to forget to wind on resulting in double exposures. I guess with a bit more practise of the manual focussing I could have produced much sharper photos but with only eight exposures on a roll it was rather wasteful to experiment too much. I did like the small magnified waist level viewfinder and using the camera in this way did convince me I needed a twin lens reflex camera one of which I acquired very cheaply soon after. The photo shown here was taken with the larger Zeiss Ikon camera and shows my brother in May 1973 sitting on the roof of his Mini. It was taken on Ilford FP3 film although on this occasion my files don’t state what developer I used. In the background can be seen my Citroen Dyane car, I have very few photos of that much-loved vehicle.

