Although I like the header image I’ve been using on this blog, it is now quite a few years old, in addition, many of you will know that it’s not actually as real as it looks. The background was taken on a very cold January morning in 2012 and I would definitely not have been in shirtsleeves and shorts. The superimposed image of me was taken at Cefn Cadlan Quarry in the Brecon Beacons National Park area by my friend Neil Holman during a photoshoot six months earlier in July 2011. Here’s a reminder of the image in case you’ve already forgotten!

me_at_fogg_wordpress_size_bw.jpg

Five years on and I’m thinking it’s now time to update the header image and cover photos on all my on-line accounts to better represent what I actually look like now. An ideal opportunity presented itself on Saturday when the WelshFlickrCymru group met for a photoshoot at Nash Point. Now I’ve done this location on so many occasions in the past I felt that whatever photographs I took would probably end up in the archives and never be seen by anyone so decided to concentrate on ‘selfies’ specifically for replacing all my ageing profile pictures.

The tide was exceptionally low that afternoon, at 0.2 metres there was a huge expanse of shoreline which was ideal as I was able to get far enough down the beach to get a very wide panorama suitable for the narrow pictures necessary for my purpose. With thirteen other photographers from our group plus many others wandering about one would have expected to have included others in the photo but with such a vast expanse of beach a couple of persons in the far background were hardly noticeable and I have decided to leave them in rather than clone them out.

cropped-img_1489_wordpress.jpg

Later on the group wandered over to the lighthouse where some of us climbed to the top and then were later treated to a look around the engine room of the fog horn building where a pair of vintage Gardner diesel engines lurk, but more on that another time.

