As I mentioned in my last post, I recently visited Nash Point with a group of fellow photographers. This location is not new to me, far from it, as I have regularly visited over the last few years since taking a more active interest in landscape photography. I don’t usually visit on a weekend so when I realised the lighthouse was open to the public decided to take a look, pay the small entrance fee and climb to the top. I’ve been up there before, the previous time probably when I was a teenager as I seem to recall going there with friends I haven’t seen since my teenage years. Inevitably one takes the obligatory record shot through the window as the view is quite impressive but unfortunately the drama of the reality is not conveyed to any of the pictures; in fact, they’re quite boring.

IMG_1539

Afterwards, it didn’t take much persuading for Nigel, one of the attendants, to show me around the engine house of the fog horns where two 3-cylinder Gardner engines provided power to drive the air compressors which actuate the fog horn. According to the Trinity House website the diesel-engined, compressed air-powered, siren-type fog signal was installed in 1906 and the original Ruston engines were in service for 60 years, being replaced by the Gardner engines in 1966. The Gardner engines and fog signal apparatus have been restored in recent years and is sounded, for the benefit of visitors, twice a month, though it is no longer an active aid to navigation. Here’s a couple of photos, one showing one of the Gardner engines and the other of the pressure tanks.

IMG_1540_small_bw

IMG_1545_small_hdrbw

